How To Get Defined Twists With Natural Hair

Hey! So I’ve been getting a lot of questions on my Instagram as to how I get my twistouts so defined.  I plan to make a short Instagram video and hopefully a YouTube video demonstrating better.  For now I’ll let you know my step by step process!

cowashAfter I deep conditioned with a mayo mask for 30 mins (mayo, olive oil, coconut oil, 1 egg yolk) I rinsed it out and detangled/ washed my hair with Carols Daughter Hair Milk Conditioning Co-Wash.  I love this product because it makes my hair feel clean even though it doesn’t lather up.  It is also super conditioning. My hair felt very dry, and after the co-wash it felt a lot better!

leaveinThen, I sectioned my hair into 4 sections and used a generous amount of Carols Daughter Hair Milk Leave-in Moisturizer.  It says use a dime sized amount for your whole head, but I use way more. Probably between a quarter and silver dollar sized amount for each section of hair.  This is definitely my favorite leave-in– it is so light but truly moisturizes your hair.

coconutoilMy favorite product ever is then evenly distributed throughout the four sections.  I have been using Trader Joe’s Organic Virgin Coconut Oil even before I was natural.  It smells just like coconut, and leaves my hair smelling and feeling amazing.

twistingproductsI let my hair air dry then, I used both Carols Daughter Healthy Hair Butter AND Shea Moisture Curling Gel Souffle.  I can definitely get defined curls without using both, but I just wanted my hair to last as long as possible in this humid/ rainy weather my area has been having.  So, I decided to pull out the big guns.  I would grab a small section to twist, then apply a finger full of healthy hair butter (I also continue to dry detangle at this point) and then apply a small amount of the Gel Souffle focusing on the root of my hair.  My roots definitely are the sections of my hair to get poofy first, and the Gel Souffle definitely helps combat this more than any other product I’ve used

resultsAnd, boom! Here you go, final product.  I’m guessing this will stay looking good for 4-5 days.  I’m going to re-do it though because I have a job interview mid-week and I don’t want to chance it!

Hopefully this helped, let me know if you have any questions!

3 thoughts on “How To Get Defined Twists With Natural Hair

  1. This is great! The weather around me is sooo humid too! I never really thought to use gel to combat it, but I actually have a container of the Shea moisture suffle, so I’ll try it out!

    Like

Leave a Reply

